Contest! Name That Exotic Fiji Food!

Read the info below and check out the pictures of one of my favorite fruits in Fiji!  The first person to guess correctly gets a round trip flight to….oh, sorry not quite…but what you WILL get is a personalized post card from me from Fiji!

One rule though, if you are from Fiji or have lived in Fiji please DON’T GUESS!  Give our over-seas friends a chance.

A bowl of the tasty fruit......hmmm, what am I?

Here are your clues:

1.      Around the tropical world, these fruits are mostly eaten out-of-hand and can also be a dark purple in color.  They are a light yellow/green color when un-ripened and have a large pit in the center about the size of a nutmeg.

2.      The fruit is made into jam or jelly with lemon juice added, or more frequently preserved in combination with other fruits of more pronounced flavor. In Jamaica, the fruits are candied by stewing them in a sugar syrup with cinnamon.  In Fiji, people only eat them out of hand or make pickles out of the un-ripened fruit.   In Fiji they are not cultivated and grow in the wild.

3.      The season in Fiji just ended and runs from early December to mid January.

4.      Mild in flavor and sweetness with a silky smooth texture I fell in love at first bite.  This is one of the foods I will miss the most when I leave Fiji!

For size comparison....this fruit would not be eaten with eggs.

13 responses

  1. From the look I was going to guess marinon (the cashew fruit), but doesn’t seem like it based on the description. Besides that, I have no idea!

  2. Bula, Just came across your “Name that exotic food item” and it brought back a flood of memories from my days as a Peace Corps teacher with Fiji IV group that served in rural schools from 1969-1971. At the time, I was in my early 20s and taught at Lomary Catholic School in Galoa near Deuba on Viti Levu.
    I was wondering, is the “Bulamakau Ua Sivi” brand of tinned corned beef still available in small shops or has this locally named food been replaced by Palm Corned Beef. It had a red and yellow label with the picture of a cow/steer on it. Back then, many of used to enjoy mixing it with Chinese cabbage and serving it over steamed rice for dinner. Inquiring minds want to know.

    Thanks, and Aloha
    Dennis A. Olkowski

    • Bula Dennis!
      Yes, that brand still exists(for better or for worse :)!! The label is still the same. I have never had the tinned beef prepared that way, but Im sure people still do…it sounds very Fijian. I primarily work with Indo-Fijians so there is not too much beef being consumed.

      Thanks for sharing. I love hearing from Fiji RPCV’s. The Lomary school is still there. It never gets old & it doesn’t matter who says it, so I will say it to you….thank you for your service.

      Vinaka,
      Sara

    • Hi Lina, Im sure there are many names (which I realized later was a bit of a flaw in my contest) …and someone gave me the one I was looking for, which was jamun, or sometimes also called rose fruit.

  3. Bula! I am a student working on a project on the exotic fruits, flowers and birds (flora/fauna) of fiji. Would you be able to send me photographs of such?

    Thanks,
    Kay

Leave a Reply

