Dreamy Curry Chicken Salad

It came to me in a dream…literally.  I had a dream last night about curry chicken salad.  True story.  I can’t remember any other part of the dream, there is no other context.  All I recall is the warm, golden glow of curry stained chicken floating in a creamy bath of mayo.  In the dream it was a sandwich nestled between 2 pieces of gorgeous, thick, nutty whole grain bread.

Dreamy chicken curry sandwich. I didn’t have the bread of my dreams but sprouted Ezekiel bread did just fine.

I can’t think about anything else, so of course I had to satisfy the craving of my subconscious.  I would have made it for breakfast if I didn’t have to teach an early morning yoga class.  And just an FYI, remember those brussel sprouts I made for the Thanksgiving side dish post?  A word to the wise, those are best consumed no where near taking a yoga class……

The dreamy ingredients….

Pssst…this would be a delicious & very non-traditional way to re-purpose your leftover turkey!

Dreamy Curry Chicken Salad

1# cooked chicken breast, chopped or pulled

1 cup celery, chopped fine

1/4 cup onion, chopped fine

3/4 tsp orange zest

2 tsp curry powder

1/4 tsp turmeric powder

1/4 cup raisins

1/3 cup pecans, chopped rough

2/3 cup mayo (I prefer Hellman’s)

In a medium mixing bowl combine  mayo, orange zest, curry powder and turmeric.  Add chicken breast, celery, onion, raisins and pecans to mayo mixture.

Serve chilled atop salad greens , in romaine salad “boats” or atop nutty, multi-grain bread like in my dream.

One response

Leave a Reply

