Spiritually-Sprouted Moong Salad With Mint

In the past when I read a recipe had a “sprouted” ingredient I just rolled my eyes & thought hippies.  The thought of waiting for my food to be ready three days later while it spiritually sprouted to its enlightened potential was annoying.  If I’m craving something I want it now!  But once I actually tried sprouted moong, I thought maybe it was high time to work on my lesser attribute of patience.

The moong post overnight soak.

These little green gems make me feel like superwoman when I eat it!  Light and crunchy with that signature sprouty grass-green taste, I can eat an entire bowl full guilt free.  And sometimes in Fiji its over 80 degrees by 8am, this in turn means I will be standing nowhere near my stove which makes this a great dish during hot weather months.

Fully enlightened (and sprouted) after its 36 hour meditation.

You can make this salad one hundred different ways.  The one below is what I make most often as these are the local ingredients I have access to.  However, you could always sass it up with some chopped apple and raisins or go Asian with soy sauce and cilantro.  The moong is a blank canvas.

This refreshing and crunchy salad is worth the wait.

Spiritually-Sprouted Moong Salad With Mint
1 cup dry, uncooked moong bean-yields 3 cups sprouted
½ cup onion, diced
¾ cup cucumber, peeled and diced
1 cup carrot, diced
3 tblsp fresh mint leaves, minced
1 tblsp cilantro, minced
Juice of 1 lemon
1 small chili, diced (optional)
Sea salt to taste

Place moong in a pot and submerge completely with filtered water. Cover and let sit unrefrigerated over night or at least 8 hours.  After the soaking, rinse and drain all water.  Cover loosely with a towel or a lid that lets air flow.  Let sit another 24 to 36 hours unrefrigerated.  Once the moong has sprouted fully, rinse it several times and drain.

To assemble salad, add onion through cilantro and toss.  Add lemon juice and salt to taste and stir to combine.  If you find the juice of 1 lemon was not enough you may add more to your liking.  This may be served room temperature but is very refreshing when served chilled.

2 responses

    • yup, no cooking!! LOTS of people all over the world go “raw”, eating nothing cooked at all! This salad it totally safe to eat, think alfalfa sprouts, bean sprouts…all spouted veggies & grains are exceptionally high in nutrition because there is no heat to kill nutrients and the germ & fiber stay in tact. This salad tastes great! Very fresh and crunchy, perfect for a hot weather climate. Give it a try & let me know 🙂 Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

